Beginnings

I am at the beginning of a journey that I will not forget for the rest of my life. This journey has great potential for me. I hope that I will meet people that I will remain friends with for the rest of my life. I hope that I can do some good in this world with the work I will be doing in Cambodia. I hope that I can start fulfilling my dreams.

Get busy living, or get busy dying – Red, Shawshank Redemption

This statement was made under the context of Red at the beginning of a journey. I think it also applies to the pursuit of dreams. Well my friends, I plan on getting busy living. I have always wanted to travel the world for an extended period of time and I will be taking my first steps along that path on Monday with my trip to Southeast Asia. Just like the words of Henry David Thoreau in Walden, “If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.” If you set your sights high and dream big, no need to abandon that dream. Take baby steps to make it more manageable and be on your way to achieve that dream. This is what I am doing with this trip to Hong Kong, Bangkok, and Battambang. I am laying down another sheet of concrete onto the foundations of my dream. This trip is more than just a vacation to me.

However, I could have a terrible experience due to my aversion to vegetables, bugs, and hot weather. But I am going into this endeavor as the most optimistic of optimists. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

